The Aerospace Media Awards

AMD 20 logo jpeg

The Aerospace Media Dinner - Celebrating Excellence in Aerospace Publishing

2020 Sponsors


Supported by

2012 Award Winners


Call for Nominations

The Aerospace Media Awards have been created to honour individuals and publishers who have made a significant contribution to aerospace publishing.  


Journalists, publications and industry executives are welcome to send in nominations for the 2020 Aerospace Media Awards. These are a distinct set of awards celebrating the very best in aviation journalism and publishing. There are no restrictions on nominations, nominees for the journalism award categories can be nominated by third parties or a self-nomination.  All nominations should be for work published between March 2019 and March 2020, closing deadline for nominations is Friday 17th April 2020.


The Aerospace Media Awards will be presented online to allow viewers to see the event in the comfort and safety of a location of their choosing.


The 2020 Aerospace Media Awards features some new categories including Awards for Digital journalism (video reporting, podcasts and digital news channels) and Passenger and crew well being.


The 2020 Award Categories are as follows;


Best Young Journalist – nominees should be 35 years of age or under by close of nominations – sponsored by NAMMO


Best Aviation Image - sponsored by Dassault Aviation


The Best Safety, Training & Simulation Submission – sponsored by CAE


The Best Rotorcraft submission – available to sponsor


The Best Propulsion submission – Available to sponsor


The Best Business Aviation Submission – sponsored by Gulfstream


The Best Military Aviation submission - sponsored by Lockheed Martin


The Best Commercial Aviation submission - available to sponsor


The Best Aerospace & Defence Business submission – sponsored by L3HARRIS

This category is for articles about the business of aviation and defence and therefore can include interviews, analysis, comment, and reviews of business transactions and industry developments


The Best Digital submission/Innovation in Aerospace Journalism Award– sponsored by Collins Aerospace

This category is for Journalists to demonstrate new and innovative ways in which reports have been created, published and circulated. Submissions can include video reports, podcasts, webinar presentations and digital news channels - submissions can be sent in as web links


Best Passenger and Crew Wellbeing submission - sponsored by CTT Systems

To include aspects of cabin environment including aircraft interiors


Best UAV/Un-Manned Systems submission – available for sponsorship


The Best Maintenance, Repair & Overhaul (MRO) submission – available for sponsorship


Best International Publication – available for sponsorship


Best In-depth Aviation Feature - available for sponsorship


The Bill Gunston Technology Writer Of The Year Award – sponsored by Boeing


The Aerospace Reporter of the Year - Special recognition for outstanding work – sponsored by Dassault Aviation

The criteria for this Award are to recognise a journalist who has excelled in aviation reporting during the last 12 months. Nominees should demonstrate how their work delivers the most informative and engaging articles that raise the bar with clear, impactful, quality journalism.


Lifetime Achievement Award – Recognising a lifetime contribution of exceptional Aerospace Journalism - sponsored by Lockheed Martin


How to make a nomination

Please submit your entries in the following way:


Name of nominee


Title of article or publication being nominated including date of publication


Key reasons for nomination – no more than 100 words, please explain why the person, article or publication you are nominating deserves to be recognised.


Please include and attach articles and supporting documents as pdf or word files


If submitting online articles please convert and send as pdf files, this ensures that all nominations will be judged on an equal basis.


Please submit all nominations to [email protected] and ask for confirmation of receipt


Nominations are limited to 1 entry per category, in the event of a nominee being nominated twice for the same category the nominee will be asked for their preference as to which nomination goes forward for judging. The reason to limiting nominations to one per category is two fold. Firstly, it is to ensure the judges are presented with the very best work. Secondly on previous occasions, when two nominations per category were allowed, this sometimes resulted in the judges votes being split between the two nominations and the nominee losing out when the scores were added up.


Deadline for Nominations

The closing date for nominations is Friday 17th April 2020

The Aerospace Media Awards will be presented during the Aerospace Media Dinner on the evening of 19th July at the Merchant Taylors Hall, London. The evening starts at 6pm with a networking cocktail reception.







2013 Award Winners gulf_gd_281_tm 2014 Award Winners LM_logo_notagline_blue Dassault_logotype_NOIR_100(preview) Nammo_logo_2955_BLUE TMPW_RGB (002) 2012-07-08 18.55.20 DMD logo final Collins-Aerospace_Primary_Black (002) Home Page Boeing_blue_standard_150 Logo Färg Konvert_ (002) 2015 winners 2016 winners 2017 winners 2018 winners 2019 winners L3Harris_logo_tm_rgb (002) AMD 2021 Logo